Skip to content

Restaurants, Malls, and Compliments

May 8, 2012

If you have been following this blog or have been reading my postings in the order they were posted, you’ve probably noticed that I have stopped zooming through my life and have started posting about almost every significant outing I have made.  That is because I am transferring this more recent information from another source.  I started writing down memories from my outings at one point in my life.  Recently, when I decided to start this blog, I gathered up my different experiences and made a list of major topics to cover.  I sometimes feel like I should not share every one of my memories since they are sort of redundant.  However, I believe it is truthful to say that I wrote this blog for me, and not for the general public.

I find as I revisit all of these old stories that I am amazed at how bold I was so long ago.  I forget details.  In my mind, these outings are more tame.  However, this outing I am about to describe is a rather bold outing, but in my memory, it was not much more significant that some of the others.  It seems no more significant because I was getting used to being out in obvious women’s clothes.

This outing started with me putting on some black shorts and shoes, taupe pantyhose and my white blouse.  When I say I was wearing taupe hose, please understand that these were a brand of support hose that were of a slightly thicker material.  Therefore, they were rather dark, and probably obvious.  I drove a long way to go to a town far away from my home.  I ate breakfast at a restaurant and no one seemed to notice me, or at least they did not react.  Yes, I ate breakfast in a normal restaurant with a lot of normal citizens while I was wearing dark pantyhose and shorts.  I remember trying to hide as best I could.  But when it was time to check out, I had to stand up and walk to the counter and wait to pay for my meal.  It was a non-event.

Then I went to a mall in a nearby town.  I traversed the whole mall.  Most people never even looked at me.  A few looked and saw what I had on.  Most paid no attention.  I started to become more comfortable in my outfit.
I ate lunch in the food area.  One woman sitting near me noticed immediately.  She would sneak a look at me when I was not facing her.  I would glance her way and catch her looking.  She would immediately look away.  After a couple of minutes, she paid me no more attention.  There were four women sitting at another table.  After about 10 minutes, one of them noticed.  When I was getting up to put away my trash, she and her friends all took time to look my way as I went by.

I left there and went to a couple stores near the mall.  One was a Payless shoes.  That place was crowded, but I went in anyway.  There was a man at the 12-13 men’s shoes rack which is always close to the large women’s shoes.  I went ahead and browsed in spite of him.  There were some kids in the store, but not on my aisle.  I try to avoid kids.  I do not want to inspire them to try crossdressing.  After a few minutes, there was a mother with her daughter who came into the aisle I was on.  The girl looked at my legs a few times.  I felt a little uncomfortable.  They walked away.  I continued trying on shoes and walking in them.

I was back in my own shoes at one point when the mother walked by and moments later the girl (8-9 years old) walked by.  She looked at my legs or feet again, but this time she said, “I like those shoes, they look good.”  I told her, “Thank you.”  She turned and walked after her mother.  I was a bit stunned.  I had no idea she would have ever thought to say that.  Women amaze me.  I wonder if she asked her mother why I was dressed that way and her mother recommended she give me a compliment.

From → True Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

