Skip to content

Shopping in a Skirt

June 1, 2012

In my previous post, I told the story of when I “flew pretty” (I traveled by airplane while crossdressed).  After my flight, while I was returning home from the airport, I stopped at a Dress Barn.   I entered the store and started shopping around for a dress.  For some time, I have wanted a dress to add to my wardrobe.   I was wearing a teal blouse, a black skirt, taupe pantyhose, and black flats.  My head was 100% man.  If you have read many of my posts, I suppose that you are tired of hearing about this outfit.  Going shopping is fun, but spending money is not.  Therefore, I own only a couple outfits of women’s wear.

One of the sales ladies greeted me and approached me.  She did not react to my outfit.  Instead, she immediately started to help me.  When I am out crossdressed, I feel apprehension that makes me want to hide behind racks so that other customers cannot see me.  This evening, I determined to shop like the other ladies in the store.  When I tried on outfits, if it wasn’t completely horrible, I would step out of the dressing room and try the three-way mirror and possibly get advice from the sales lady.  Eventually, I found an attractive dress that fit me pretty well.  I stepped out of the dressing room.

At the next dressing room over, there was a mother and her college-aged daughter.  The girl had also just stepped out of the dressing room.  She was wearing a party dress.  I said, “That’s a cute dress.”  They thanked me and complimented my dress.  We ended up chatting off and on while we were shopping.  It made me feel so human to be treated so well.

I kept the dress on and talked with the sales ladies about it.  They suggested some ways to improve it.  I was never satisfied, so decided not to buy it.  Besides, it was a bit too expensive…

After that, I went home.

 

From → True Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

