Skip to content

Attended a Class in a Skirt #4

June 17, 2016

I attended my fourth sewing class while dressed pretty.  This time I wore my multicolored, green, silky skirt with a brown top.  I wore nude pantyhose and black flats.  I think the shoes do not look perfect with the outfit.  I chose not to wear my nude heels with this outfit to class because those heels are too tall.  I already cannot cross my legs under the tables in the classroom.

I came in, said, “Hi,” to those present, and went to work.  No one talks in class.  It is such a quiet room.  Things are said, but not for long and not very loudly.  It is like a library.  I will try to talk to people, but no significant conversations result from my attempts.

I accomplished a lot in class today.  I finished everything for which I had a pattern.  I completed a second item that I was making up as I went.  I put on the second item and I used my phone as a mirror so I could get a look at myself.  I put down my phone.  The woman in the row behind me offered to take my picture and had her phone in position.  She was going to take my picture and then send it to me.  I declined.

A few moments later, after I took off the item, I asked her if she would take my picture with my camera.  She accepted.  We tried a few locations before we found a backdrop that was not white.  The white tunic that I made for a costume was blending into the white walls in the room.  While I was getting ready for her to take my picture, a second woman stood up and got her camera/phone ready to take my picture for me.  I asked the second woman not to take my picture.

Later, I said to the second potential photographer that I do not dress like this all the time and I try to control what pictures exist of me dressed up.

classwithtunic

So, I have a picture from this class.  I also have a conspiracy theory.  These two women both wanted to take my picture “for me”.  I thought, “What if they are offering to take my picture and send me a copy because they actually want to take a picture of this skirt guy to show to their families who have been hearing stories about me.”

When class was over, I cleaned up my things and waved good-bye the last two classmates who remained.  They smiled or waved.  They were in the middle of a conversation with the teacher.  The teacher did not turn to tell me good-bye.  The teacher was talking when I departed.  So, maybe that does not mean anything.  She had spoken with me more casually during class than on the previous week.

I went back to that Cracker Barrel from last week.  I put on my nude heels for this.  The restaurant was a lot busier than on my previous visit.  I was uncomfortable.  I walked across the front walkway of the store on the outside.  I glanced into the many windows in order to see if there were any customers who knew me.  None of the roughly twenty customers looked familiar.  I went in.  There were approximately fifteen people in the store area.  I tried to browse far away from the crowd while waiting for them to leave.  An employee walked by me to check on me.  She spoke kindly to me and walked on.

I browsed some more and then went to the employee who was visiting with two other female employees who were working on a store display.  I asked if the woman I hoped to speak to was working.  She was not.  During my previous visit, an employee stopped and told me that she once had a neighbor who wore skirts and had a beard.  I was hoping to ask her about him and to hear about another guy like me.  One of the ladies working on the display had spoken with me last week.  She told me it was nice to see me again.  They complimented me on my skirt.  The first employee talked to me the most.  She seemed patronizing.

I have found that I get a few slightly different reactions.  People do not say these things, but their behavior and words imply these:

  1. “You are not welcome here.” (I do not like you or respect you.)
  2. “You have as much a right to be here as the other people, but I’m not excited about it.” (I do not like you, but I respect you.)
  3. “You are welcome here.” (I do not care.  I respect you.)
  4. “You are welcome here because we accept all kinds.  Even people like you.” (It is so good that I am here for you,  you poor little thing.  The last half of that could be translated to the Southeastern American phrase, “Bless your heart!”)

This employee was a #4.  Normally, the public is #2 or #3.  Most employees communicate #2 to me.  I have not experienced #4 in a long time.

Eventually, the crowd diminished and I collected the candy that I wanted to purchase.  Another employee saw me and said it was good to see me again.  She was the employee at the cash register who took my money on the previous visit.  I made this trip’s purchase and walked to my car.  The group of older people who were in the store were now in their cars.  I looked over and saw the driver of one car giving me a long stare.  I think they had seen me in the store.  They seemed to be looking in my direction often when I was inside.  In retrospect, I should have waved at her as I crossed the parking lot.  I, however,was walking in heels and was too consumed with trying to do it well to think about waving.  Some things just take more focus than others…

From → True Stories

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lunch and Shoe Shopping | joeypress

Leave a Reply

