Skip to content

Lunch Non Event

November 6, 2016

I went back to the lunch where I met the “Lingering Waitress“.  I wore a blue jean skirt with an orange top, a black cardigan with off black pantyhose, and black flats.  The parking lot was empty.  I walked into and empty restaurant.  The automatic door bell on the door sounded.  I seated myself.  A waitress (not the lingering waitress) came out while I was seating myself.  It is possible that she did not see my outfit.

I gave the waitress my order and then went to the salad bar.  Again, if she saw my outfit, she was not concerned with it.  Eventually, two young, Hispanic men came in and seated themselves in the table near my booth.  They sat down and immediately started interacting with their phones.  They paid me no attention.  They paid each other no attention.  I got up and got more salad, but they never noticed.

When the waitress took the men’s order, I learned that one man spoke no English and the other only spoke a little.  The waitress would ask a question, the English-speaker would translate to his friend, and they would debate the topic.  Sometimes it seemed like they did not understand the waitress’ original question.  I was looking over at them.  During a particularly active discussion between the men.  The waitress and I made eye contact.  We shared an amused look.

My food came.  While I ate, some more men came into the restaurant and happened to sit far from my seat.  I went back to the salad bar for some fruit for dessert.  I paid my bill from the table.  When I got up to leave, the servers were not in the dining area.  The men far away were talking to each other.  The two Hispanic men were talking and eating.  As I walked away, the Hispanic men stopped talking.  I went to my car and left.

That is a non-event.  It was so boring, I considered not even posting it.

From → True Stories

One Comment
  1. Anonymous permalink

    This sounds like a great outing. Needless to say I would love to do something similar. Your stories are great, and I look forward to each new post.

Leave a Reply

