Skip to content

Eye Doctor and a Store Outing

January 23, 2017

1/19/2017

I had some time to run some errands.  First, I did one errand in menswear.  Then, I went to a thrift store.  I was shopping for ladies’ tops and khaki skirts.  I found a few items including a black “leather” ladies’ jacket.  I went to the dressing room and found that the only khaki skirt in my size did not work for me.  I bought the black jacket, a white ladies’ undershirt for layering, and a white ladies’ button-up shirt.

Next, I changed into a knee length multicolored skirt, a black top with a built-in cardigan with black flats and nude pantyhose.  I also wore my new, black, faux leather jacket.  I went to a small store and shopped for a Valentine’s card for my wife.  There was one elderly man in the store.  Otherwise, there were only women in the store.  I counted at least three employees.  As I entered and walked across the store, a few women incidentally saw me and then took a more intense look.  After the moment of looking right at me, each woman returned back to what she was doing.

While I was browsing the greeting cards, an occasional customer would walk past the end of the aisle.  A couple of them would realize there was a man in a skirt and take a distinct look at me and then move on.  If I turned my head toward them, they would glance away as though they felt awkward about looking at me.

I heard an employee talking to a customer on another aisle.  She needed a Valentine’s card for her husband.  The employee brought her to the aisle I was on.  She was a woman in her seventies.  She was an educated woman.  She needed a second or two to process what she saw when she came upon the skirted man in the card aisle.  She talked to me the whole time we shopped together.  I perceived from her speech that she was an unusually intelligent woman.  We talked about Valentine’s Day, our spouses, the cards, but never my outfit.  She was a very positive woman.  If she said something, it was complimentary about the cards, or the staff, or about her husband.  She inspired me to try to be like her in my speech.

I found the card I would purchase.  I said good-bye to the intelligent woman.  I went to the cash register and waited in line.  The cashier was the same woman who took my money the last time I was in this store.  She was warm and welcoming.  She did her job and politely welcomed me back.

I drove to my eye doctor’s office.  I went to get new lenses put into my old frames.  In the lobby, there was a woman on my side of the counter, and an employee on the other side.  The woman on my side of the counter seemed more like a sales person than a customer.  Later, I learned that my impression was correct.  She was pretty and wearing a cute, well selected outfit.

The salesperson turned around and looked to see who was coming into the lobby.  She looked at me and smiled warmly (like a sales person).  Then she glanced down and back up and kept smiling and spoke a greeting to me.  She turned back toward the employee, excused herself, and walked past me and exited.  The employee welcomed me by name.  I paid my bill.  I gave her my old glasses and she walked into another room to work on them.  I turned to sit in the lobby and wait.  Before I could sit down, she spoke to me.  I walked over to the door to the room where she was and responded.  She held a conversation with me while she worked.  It made me feel valued.

I asked her for her opinion of my new jacket.  She offered a polite, non-insulting opinion.  Personally I am not sure if I like the jacket yet.  She said it would look better with a colorful top under it instead of black.

I told her that I do not go out dressed pretty all the time.  It is something I only do occasionally.  I told her that two years ago when I came into her office for the first time, that it was the first time I had ever given my full name to someone while dressed.  She laughingly replied, “Yep, we have got all your information.”  And they do.  I told her it was a big step for me to do that and I told her, “Thank you.”

I do not think that I can reasonably explain what I was thanking her for.  I know her participation was passive, but it was participation in a big moment in my life.  Therefore, I feel gratitude toward her and the whole office.

 

 

 

From → True Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

