Skip to content

HUE So Silky Sheer Gloss Pantyhose Review

November 29, 2023

11/10/2023

I bought two styles of of HUE back in May of this year. The first style I tried on were HUE Essential Solutions (Age Defiance Control Top style). I reviewed them back in June. I have not worn them since that first time. Perhaps a month went by and then I tried the HUE So Silky Sheer (Gloss Control Top style). I really like these pantyhose. I wore them almost every time I went out in public since then (except for when they were waiting to be cleaned). They are rather sheer and damage easily. Eventually they tore after at least four times being worn. I bought another pair. I recommend these pantyhose enthusiastically!

Style(s)

Hue So Silky Sheer comes in three styles that I am aware of:

  • Sheer
  • Polished Sheer
  • Gloss

The pair I purchased is the gloss style (style 13363). From what I saw in my searching on Hue’s website, all of the So Silky Sheer appear to only come in Control Top. It is my understanding that glossy pantyhose shine because of the shape of the thread. I have read where fashion bloggers say that women should avoid shiny hosiery because you want your pantyhose to be invisible. However, in my experience, crossdressers prefer to wear shiny pantyhose. Also, men who like to see women in pantyhose also like for them to be shiny. I have always thought that a little bit of shine is pretty. I always attributed it to the fact that I am a Cave Man.

Size/Fit

The size on the package was “queen 1”. I found these to be big enough for me around the waist. I have at most a 36 inch (91 cm) waist. I felt like the panty section was not tight or constraining. I have a 34 inch (86 cm) inseam.

Later, I bought a second package (images immediately below). This package has the same size chart, but my size was labeled “size 4”.

Denier

These pantyhose are 15 denier. That means that the fabric is very light-weight. The threads are very thin. These pantyhose disappear in most normal light settings, leaving me looking bare-legged with perfect skin. However, these do not feel coarse, like some extra sheer pantyhose.

Very often, I wear Leggs Sheer Energy pantyhose. For comparison, I think that the threads these Hue So Silky Sheer pantyhose is possibly half the diameter of the Leggs Sheer Enregy pantyhose. The Leggs website states the following:

  • Sheer Energy Leggs “Light Support” style is 30 denier.
  • Hanes Silk Reflections “Silky Sheer” style is 20 denier.
  • Leggs Silken Mist “Ultra Sheer Leg” is 10 denier.

One drawback of these Hue So Silky Sheer pantyhose being so sheer is: when I would gather the leg on my hands, in order to put the hose on, threads would hang on micro imperfections in my skin. Maybe 3-5 threads would hang per wearing. After several times being worn, upon close observation, you could see where there were numerous small snags in these pantyhose. Perhaps, I have finally found some pantyhose worthy of wearing gloves when they are put on.

Color

The color of these pantyhose is listed as “NATURAL” on the package. I felt like they matched my lightly tanned arm color well and changed my pale, white legs into beautiful, smooth legs in a good looking color. I was told by a few people that they could not tell that I was wearing pantyhose. They praised me for finding hosiery in such a natural color. I feel that their invisibility might also be attributed to their sheerness.

Beauty

I felt beautiful in these pantyhose. They did not bunch behind my knees or at the ankles. They did not droop down and “puddle” around my ankles. There was no inconsistency in their color. These hose would snag easily against the imperfections on my hands each time put them on. Those small snags were not easily visible when I wore the pantyhose.

Control Top

The control top for this pair is a sparkly gold color. I would compare it to the color of the panty section of “Silkies” pantyhose from back in the 1980’s. I felt very pretty just knowing they were down there. I love the sparkly gold fabric. The control top was not too tight or compressing. The waistband was not very tight on me. Perhaps I bought too large of a size. I did not notice any damage to the fabric near the seams of the panty section. I do feel like the waistband was very stretched out after the first couple wearings.

Movement (Did they stay put?)

Caveats: I spread six-to-eight pumps of hand lotion on my legs and lower abdomen before I put on pantyhose. I have found that this REALLY helps keep the pantyhose from moving around on my body. I love it. Also, I wear a panty girdle when I crossdress in public, because I am over 40 and I sometimes look pregnant without it. The panty girdle stops the crotch of my pantyhose from dropping and it stops the waistband from moving as well.

These pantyhose stayed put very well. I never really needed to pull them up. Even when I wore them under my guy clothes, without the girdle, these stayed in place very well.

Texture

These hose are very smooth and kind of slippery. When my legs brushed each other, they did not feel very slippery. However, when I crossed my legs, the perpendicular textures of the fabric slid like satin against each other. I found that wearing a lined skirt or a slip over these pantyhose felt super nice! I do not recall the panty section feeling as slipper against my clothes, but I might be wrong about that.

Length

I have a 34 inch (86 cm) inseam. These pantyhose were easy to put on and they did not look over-extended. They stayed up without a struggle. I felt like the queen1/size4 size was a great fit for my height.

Shine

As I said before, these Hue So Silky gloss pantyhose are glossy. That means they looked very shiny to me in various situations. I asked around whether they were too shiny. Everyone said they were not too shiny. In fact, two people referred to them as matte (not shiny). In most of my pictures, they did not look shiny. I concluded that they must reflect light back at the source. Therefore, when I look down at them, I see the reflection of the lights above my head. In the sunlight, I felt like these were extraordinarily shiny. I was not able to ask anyone else if they were equally shiny from their perspectives while outside. I tried to take some pictures with my arm reached out to test this.

I felt so beautiful in these pantyhose.

Durability

These pantyhose survived being worn at least four times. When I went on one outing, my leg brushed into a stone fireplace, or something. Later, I looked and saw that I had a small tear. When I put them on again to wear at home, they tore high on the other leg while I was pulling them up.

Scent

There was no noticeable scent.

Waistband

The waistband did not roll very much on me. It seemed to be rather stretched out after the first couple wearings. I never found it to be annoying or uncomfortable.

Seams

The seams are somewhat flat, but not completely. They did not leave dents in my tummy because the control top was not very tight on me. It was possibly too big. I do not believe that these ever put dents in my toes either.

Price

When I first bought these, they were priced as $9.50 for one $16 for two. When I went back and bought a second pair, they were $12.00 per pair. They are more expensive than the pantyhose that I usually wear. Roughly double in price. I would prefer to pay $5-6 for one pair of pantyhose. If they are going to last a long time, then it probably does not matter as much how much they cost.

Conclusion

  • I felt beautiful.
  • I would buy these again. (I already have.)
  • They are comfortable.
  • They are shiny.
  • They are too expensive for every day use. I probably would not change to exclusively wearing these pantyhose.
  • They will tear more easily than some other pantyhose. So be careful.

From → Opinion, Review

7 Comments
  1. Thanks for posting and it sure does seem like you are not wearing hose – and your legs look fantastic

  2. CFillio permalink

    A very comprehensive review of a product. You should run focus groups for manufacturers and their prospective customer targets.

    Angel Amore

    • It is rather funny that you said that. It took me so very long to complete this review… The last few took me a long time to do. I clearly do not have a passion for doing these. I have been thinking that I should not do them any longer. 🙂 I guess we will see!

  3. eliseg25 permalink

    This was such a fabulously thorough review and I enjoyed reading it! I have a pantyhose obsession and years ago decided to find a brand and style that would meet my personal specific criteria and become *my* go-to hose. I surveyed a large selection of hosiery and concluded that nothing beats a great pair of legs…in control-top L’eggs Sheer Energy:)

  4. eliseg25 permalink

    I just wanted to drop you a note to let you know I frequently think of your fabulous hosiery reviews when I slip into a pair of pantyhose. Being 6′ tall, it’s difficult finding hose that properly fit. When I do, my #1 criteria is that they don’t sag. I hate spending the day having to pull up and adjust my hose. The #2 criteria is that they are fairly resistant to runs. Nothing ruins my day like a run! Once I find hosiery that meet those practical criteria, I can focus on the feel and the shade.

    I’ve read in your posts that you also dislike the sag in the crotch, so to avoid that and still be able to wear silkier hose (which often do not stay put), I’ll wear suntan controltop Sheer Energy as a base layer with the silky sheer hose over top. Because the L’eggs stay in place, I never notice when the silky top layer starts drifting down:)

    • My favorite crossdressing discovery is that putting 8-10 pumps of hand lotion on my legs will PROFOUNDLY reduce the likelihood that my pantyhose will move after I have put them on. I highly recommend it!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Haircut in a Dress | joeypress

Leave a comment