Skip to content

Haircut in a Dress

December 21, 2023

12/14/2023

Last month, I went to a new hair salon for the first time. I had a great time meeting the hairdresser. Today, it was time for another hair cut. I made an appointment and showed up wearing a black dress, a red duster, and black flats.

Haircut

When I made the appointment, she said that she only had one opening at noon. I assumed that meant that they would be busy. When I arrived, there was only one car near the salon. I parked and saw two workers through the window. Both women were moving around doing things. There were no other customers. I came in and sat down in the waiting area. The other woman, the owner, said that my barber was in the back and would be with me shortly.

Since this was the beginning of my outing, I was self-conscious. I forgot to say “hello” and meet the owner. I sat down in the waiting area. Moments later, my barber came out and welcomed me warmly. I got into the chair, she wrapped the smock around me, and she got to work. We talked while she cut my hair.

This time, our conversation was roughly normal for a haircut conversation. I wonder if she just needed a friend last time. The owner came over and joined our conversation for a little while. I said hello to her at this point. She went back to work and wrote on a chalk-board sign “Walk-ins Welcome”, and put the sign outside on the sidewalk. Maybe they were not as busy as I had understood them to be.

We finished up. I paid her and gave her a better-than-usual tip and said, “Merry Christmas.” I asked her to take my picture and then I left.

Shopping

The haircut had taken 15 minutes. I decided to go do some Christmas shopping. I changed into some ladies’ black shorts and a white top with orange stripes. I was still wearing my pantyhose. This brand of pantyhose is glossy. Otherwise, they are rather invisible. I went to a shopping center.

As usual for this outfit, no one paid me any attention. The shoes I was wearing could pass for men’s shoes. Everything I was wearing was not conspicuous. There were a lot of people around. I kept watching for anyone who knows me, just in case, so that could disappear before being seen. I walked into the store and eventually relaxed.

There were several people in this store shopping. They were all looking at products and I did not draw any attention to myself. I shopped around. At one point, a family walked up and started making remarks about a display that was close to something that I was looking at. They were geeking out about the display. I had seen that product before and made a comment about it. Their teenage daughter looked at my legs. I do not know how shiny these hose are from others’ perspectives, but in that well-lit room, they looked shiny from my direction. Then, she looked back at the product. I never noticed her look at me again, nor did she appear to tell anyone else to check me out.

I made my selections, went to checkout, waited in line, and paid. I walked out of the store. It was a non-event.

I went to a second store to buy a gift for my wife. That store had so many tables and turns that it would have been hard to have not been hidden. I found something and got in line to pay. Two older teenage girls were in front of me. They did not pay me any attention. A woman with a little boy in a stroller got in line behind me. That kid kept smiling at me and being funny. His mom started talking to me. Eventually, I checked out and left. Again, a non-event. My clothes were not a problem.

From → True Stories

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. At Church In A Dress | joeypress

Leave a comment