Skip to content

Bloodwork at Doctor’s Office

July 22, 2023

7/18/2023

I had an early morning appointment to have some blood drawn at my doctor’s office. I decided to do it while dressed pretty. I wore my black and white patterned skirt, a form-fitting black top, and a white button-up shirt as an outer layer. With all of that, I wore some black flats. I feel like this is a rather risky outing, but I was not very scared at all. It was a very pleasant experience.

Arrival

I changed clothes in the parking lot for my 8:00 AM appointment. I was parked rather far from the building. I got out of the car and looked at my reflection in the window. I made sure my skirt was lined up correctly. While I walked toward the building cars were arriving. The drivers did not look at me. (I always think, “I hope they do not look at me, get distracted, and then wreck.”)

As I walked into the building, I saw a woman waiting for the elevator. She stepped in. I sped up and joined her in the elevator. She was arriving for work, dressed in scrubs. We had a pleasant conversation on our way up. We got off on the same floor. She turned left and I turned right. She wished me a good day.

Waiting Room

There were two women in the waiting room. I walked up to the counter. The young girl (early 20’s) at the window looked up from her work, greeted me happily, and checked me in. We talked about my visit. Then, we talked about her glasses. I went and sat down in the lobby away from the other people who were waiting. I saw no evidence that the anyone else ever looked at me.

One-by-one, the other women were called away. Within a few minutes of sitting down, someone called my name. I was seated on the opposite side of the check-in counter from the door where the nurse was calling from. I got up and started walking toward the unseen voice. As I walked by the check-in girl, she looked up and smiled at me. When I came into view, the nurse who called me took a very slight glance down. She immediately looked at my face and greeted me. I walked in ahead of her. She followed me, instructing me where to go. I sat in her booth and she talked to me while she prepared to take my blood.

Having Blood Drawn

I was kind of hoping that I would get the same person who took my blood the last time I came here in a skirt. The nurse who was taking my blood this time was new to the office. While she worked on me, the nurse and I had a pleasant conversation getting to know one another. I learned that she was my age. She did her job well. I asked her to take my picture. She was happy to do it.

Breakfast

I left my Doctor’s office and went to a hospital farther away in order to eat in their cafeteria. It is a pleasant, safe environment, and they have cheap, healthy food. There was a receptionist in the hospital lobby who smiled at me and said, “Good morning,” as I walked by.

In the restaurant, there were three nurses at one table, another woman in a skirt at another table, and five people in the kitchen/cafeteria line area. I placed my order, got my food, and got in line to pay. A young man was at the cash register. He was the only one who seemed to react to my outfit. However, he might just have an awkward personality. A woman was in line behind me. I never checked to see if she was paying any attention to me. I was not scared. I was SO relaxed. I paid the young man and walked away. (I had eggs, bacon, fruit, and milk for less than $8.) I did not watch him to see if he behaved the same with other customers.

I sat and ate my food as people came and went. When I was done, I got up, discarded my trash, and walked out. None of this was as difficult as my last visit here. I walked through the hospital lobby and smiled at the receptionist again. In the parking lot, an older couple were exiting their vehicle. They both took a long look at me as I was walking toward my car. That was the only significant reaction I saw.

Store

On my way home, I stopped at a store and got some more cream bleach for my leg hair. I am having to buy Sally Hansen Cream Bleach because my preferred brand (Surgi Invis-Bleach) appears to have gone away. Here is my review of Sally Hansen Cream Bleach. The only person that I encountered in the store was one employee at the cash register. She was in her early 20’s. She took my money and we talked very briefly. She seemed sad, and not open to much conversation. Since my family was away, I drove home while dressed pretty.

From → True Stories

5 Comments
  1. Andrea permalink

    I love reading your blog, it is very insightful and tasteful. No matter who you are a simple conversation and kindness is important.

    • Thank you so much, Andrea! I don’t recognize your name. Welcome, it is nice to meet you.
      Joey

  2. Silly Gurl permalink

    You seem much more relaxed when going out now. Actually, you have inspired me to go out to lunch dressed a few times too. i have noticed that smiling and being polite goes such a long ways.

  3. Andrea permalink

    Thank you for the kind welcome. Been around you blog for a while and decided it was time to speak up. I appreciate your reflections and insights. It has helped me balance myself emotionally and reflective of my own journey.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I Ate Out With a Family Member While Dressed Pretty | joeypress

Leave a comment